The Daily Post today is about perfection.

It’s funny because I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what perfection would really look like in my life.

With so much pressure to be perfect, it’s hard to feel acceptable sometimes. There is so much pressure to be the “perfect” woman, wife, mother, friend. It streams from all forms of media, from biting criticisms that come from others–from my own heart. Airbrushed skin, endless cosmetic surgeries, the drive to be thin, 2.5 kids and a two car garage, enough money to feed a third world country. There.is.so.much.pressure.

It’s overwhelmingly depressing at times, through the lense of perfection.

It was Pierre Corneille that said “We never taste happiness in perfection. Our most fortunate successes are mixed with sadness.”

I cannot agree more with that statement. I’ve never really been the girl to chase perfection. My house is messy, my clothes are wrinkly, my hair is gray. Every success I have had has been a knee jerk reaction to something tragic in my life, my way of overcompensating for the lack of stability I felt growing up. There are heavy undertones of just keeping my head above water. Insert Maslow’s hierarchy of needs here. Basically, your needs are on a hierarchical pyramid of needs. It’s impossible to proceed into the next section of the pyramid without first meeting all of the needs from the previous section. For example, if my basic needs of food and clothing aren’t met, I cannot meet the needs of security. I’ve included the pyramid of needs below, if anyone is interested.

maslow

The problem with perfection is not within the definition, it’s within the way society defines perfection.

I chose to define it by avoiding it altogether. It isn’t a reality for anyone, anywhere. I refuse to let what other people think define who I strive to be. That is so easy to say, but so hard to live by. It’s challenging to not care when people unwittingly compare my lifestyle choices to some that they consider as more acceptable. I constantly have to remind myself that I don’t need to care about what others say or how they perceive my actions. It’s hard to remember because the drive to be perfect is hardwired in our society.

I feel that I’m going down the rabbit hole. I’m going to stop now. My apologies for the overly negative perspective. I feel I might be slipping into a depression again.

much love. ❤

